
Although we mostly saw what we wanted to see, there was a lack of drama on this weekend's B.A.D. card. Guerrero didn't look great before quickly and rather nonchalantly forfeiting his fight due to a pretty bad cut. I'll give him the benefit of the doubt if he gives "Air" Yordan a rematch.
It's hard not to think Ortiz is the real thing after knocking out tough, but second tier, Arnoutis. Good stoppage too. Arnaoutis asked his corner what happened about twenty seconds after the ref waved it off. "You lost, that's what". I'd like to see Ortiz take on Malignaggi and perhaps separate Paulie's head from his neck.
We didn't get the climax and release that comes with a knock out in the Kirkland-Julio fight but we did get some nonstop pummeling. After the fourth round Julio looked like he'd rather be doing just about anything else than fighting. His fists said "Let's fight" but his eyes said "Mommy, I want to go home".
Bandwagoning - Although I was already running along side it, I have jumped on the James Kirkland bandwagon. It may be speeding towards a brick wall or off a cliff but WoooooooWeeee! It's gonna be fun! The only time Kirkland moves his head it seems to be into an oncoming punch. I don't agree with those who question his chin, however. He got hit hard but never seemed dazed or even off balance in the last three fights I saw. O.k. he's been knocked down but he got up completely composed and proceeded to destroy.
Who can stop the tank? I think Santos would knock him out. Power plus skill. I think Paul Williams (I bought a pass for his bandwagon, I ride it so much) could find a solution to his straight ahead pressure as he did against Margarito.
De-Bandwagoning - No fallen heroes this week but I am slowly leaning towards Hatton in the upcoming mega showdown. De laHoya never really imposed his size (as a welter or above) on anyone and ,being the Golden Retard, he can't feed or nourish himself properly and thus came in weighing less than the Pacman, so it's not a gauge of how Manny will match up against strength. Hatton is strong and will outweigh Manny by 10 lbs. Is Manny strong enough? Then he better be fast enough.
Pacquiao will finish Hatton faster than Pretty Boy did. After that, Floyd needs to come back for a mega-fight with Once-Again-Sugar Shane, and the winner fights Manny.
ReplyDeleteNow, in the lamest of moves, I paste my comments about the Boxing After Dark triple-header which I originally posted under your first Fight!
Too bad about Guerrero. As boring a decision it was on his part to quit, I can't blame him. That cut was NASTY. A few more shots and it could have opened up even wider. So now he'll miss less time and he can get back, I'm sure HBO will have him on again.
Ortiz was impressive. Arnaoutis was absolutely OUT on his feet. He came to a few seconds later and argued the stoppage, but for those few seconds he was completely dazed and unable to fight back. Good stoppage.
It's too early to really judge Ortiz. You still get the sense he could crumble if opposed to a real tough veteran. We'll see.
Kirkland is very intriguing. He's a tank!!! Is there anyone at 154 he couldn't plow through? I can't wait to see him again. Also, the bio of him and especially his trainer Anne Wolfe was very touching.
Nothing beats a night of fights.
"Pacquiao will finish Hatton faster than Pretty Boy did". Genius! You will be a genius if that happens. I think both fighters will bleed. Hatton will not hesitate to get close to Manny and will move side-to-side enough to make teeing off on him difficult.
ReplyDeleteHowever, Manny will also be doing this.
Either a back and forth with adjustments and counter adjustments or a blood-smeared clinch-fest will occur.
That's just how it goes!
(I'm trying to come up with a catchphrase.Comments would be appreciated)
Counter adjustments? I take it you think quite highly of both fighters' "boxing IQ".
ReplyDeleteFor the catch phrase, I like "That's just how it goes"...minus the exclamation point. When you don't shout it, it has more attitude. Ooo yeah.